Scottish Solo Sailing: The premier dinghy class for Scotland “Scotland’s premier dinghy class”

Scottish Solo Dinghy Site and all contents © Simon Richards 2018.  E+O Excepted


Scottish SOLO Dinghy Sailing

Latest News

Items For Sale

Items for sale can be found by clicking here. If you have any Solo related items you want to advertise then please contact the webmaster.

Boat Register

Access the Solo boat register here.

Closing the 2018 Season: Loch Ard Oct 6th

On Saturday October 6th the Scottish Solos assembled at Loch Ard SC for the final travellers event of 2018 along with the series prize giving and AGM. This is a lovely loch in the national park. The surrounding hills always causing more than a few shifts.The forecast was for no wind up until the evening before which put off a few  from travelling a long distance.  We were greeted by blue skies and a wind that was fairly steady from 8-14 knots with marginal planing in the gusts.

In the first race Ross Watson gained a clear lead of 50 yards but the next 4 places changed rapidly with finally Willie Todd just beating Keith Milroy for second and third.  Race 2 was held in a similar wind.  Again racing was close behind Malcolm Worsley who broke free.  Willie was 2nd and Ross 3rd. The third race stared in a more patch wind which died before picking up again on the last lap.  Keith Milroy who until then had had a relatively quiet day winning. This meant Ross Watson won from Keith Milroy.

The series prize giving then took place with

The following winners.

Scottish Champion:     

              Ross Watson

Scottish Travellers series:    

1st Keith Milroy (St Mary's SC),

2nd Willie Todd (Largs SC),

3rd Kev Gibb (Largo Bay SC).

Paul McCombie (St Andrews SC) won the silver

fleet from David Parkin. The KLG estates

Scottish Travelling Trophy is awarded to the

sailer who is new to the fleet and has shown

the greatest commitment to travelling.  

It was awarded to Willie Todd.

Finally we had a raffle for a sail voucher from P&B drawn from all boats who had qualified.  Keith Milroy was the luck winner.  The welcome was great as usual with slick races and nice hot food after the prize giving. See you all for the 2019 series.